Strenghten human rights and ethics in science

The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences engage in different ways in the areas of human rights and ethics.
 

Human Rights

The «Delegate for Human Rights» of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences works at the interface between science and human rights. Martina Caroni, Chair in International, Constitutional and Comparative Law at the University of Lucerne executes this function since 2017. The Delegate intervenes in cases of human right violations against researchers related to their scientific work and she promotes the pertinence of human rights in science. The Delegate seeks cooperation with partners nationally (Swiss Centre of Expertise in Human Rights, Department of Foreign Affairs, Scholars at Risk Switzerland) and internationally (International Human Rights Network of Academies and Scholarly Societies).
 
Workshop «Ethical and legal responsibility in international research», Bern, April 2016
 
Internationally active researchers can be confronted with difficult ethical and legal questions – for example when cooperating with politically corrupt local structures, when working on projects funded from doubtful financial resources or when collaborating with researchers in countries imposed to international sanctions. Based on a report of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, this symposium addresses the responsibility in international research by means of specific case examples.
 
International Conference «The Human Right to Science», Bern, May 2015
 
Scientists are entitled to human rights – but people also have a right to scientific progress and its applications. This  conference addressed «The Human Right to Science» by taking the example of seed science and seed policy. Keynote speaker was Farida Shaheed, Special Rapporteur of the UN in the Field of Cultural Rights.
 
See also:
 

Ethics in science

Within the framework of their focus area «Scientific integrity», the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences are also engaged internationally.

In Europe: as part of their cooperation with the Working Group «Science and Ethics» of the All European Academies (ALLEA), the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences had the lead in drafting the statement on private funding in the scientific enterprise (2015).

Globally: from October 2010 to April 2016, the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences supported the «Committee on Freedom and Responsibility in the conduct of Science» of the International Council for Science (ICSU). Based on the scientific conference «Private sector – academia interactions» that this committee organised in 2011, they held the workshop «Das Spannungsverhältnis von Wissenschaft und Industrie am Beispiel des Sponsoring von Lehrstühlen» in Bern in 2012 that resulted in the above-mentioned ALLEA statement.
 

Members of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences

Centres of Excellence

Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
House of Academies
Laupenstrasse 7
P.O. Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

Phone +41 (0)31 306 92 20
info@swiss-academies.ch

Menschenrechte und Ethik in der Wissenschaft stärken

Die Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz engagieren sich auf verschiedene Weise in den Bereichen Menschenrechte und Ethik.
 

Menschenrechte

Die oder «Delegierte für Menschenrechte» der Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz arbeitet an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Menschenrechten. Martina Caroni, Professorin für öffentliches Recht, Völkerrecht und Rechtsvergleichung im öffentlichen Recht an der Universität Luzern übt diese Funktion seit 2017 aus. Die Delegierte interveniert im Fall von Menschenrechtsverletzungen gegen Forschende aufgrund von deren wissenschaftlicher Tätigkeit und sie fördert die Bedeutung der Menschenrechte in der Wissenschaft. Die Umsetzung erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern national (Schweizerisches Kompetenzzentrum für Menschenrechte SKMR, Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten EDA, Scholars at Risk Switzerland) und international (International Human Rights Network of Academies and Scholarly Societies, entsprechende Organe ausländischer Akademien).
 
Workshop «Ethische und rechtliche Verantwortung in internationaler Forschung», Bern, April 2016
 
International tätige Forschende können mit schwierigen ethischen oder juristischen Fragen konfrontiert werden – etwa bei der Zusammenarbeit mit korrupten politischen Strukturen vor Ort, bei der Mitarbeit an aus zweifelhaften Ressourcen finanzierten Projekten oder bei der Zusammenarbeit mit Forschenden in mit internationalen Sanktionen belegten Ländern. Ausgehend von einem Bericht der niederländischen Akademie der Wissenschaften thematisierte dieses Symposium Verantwortung in internationaler Forschung anhand konkreter Fallbeispiele.
 
Internationale Konferenz «The Human Right to Science», Bern, Mai 2015
 
Wissenschafter haben ein Recht auf Menschenrechte – aber Menschen haben auch ein Recht auf wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und deren Anwendungen. Diese Konferenz thematisierte «The Human Right to Science» am Beispiel von Saatgutforschung und -politik. Hauptreferentin war Farida Shaheed, die Sonderberichterstatterin der UNO zu kulturellen Rechten.
 
Siehe  auch:
 

Ethik

Im Rahmen ihres Schwerpunktthemas «Wissenschaftliche Integrität» engagieren sich die Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz auch international.

Europa: als Teil ihrer Mitarbeit in der Arbeitsgruppe «Science and Ethics» der All European Academies (ALLEA) waren die Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz federführend beim Statements zur privaten Finanzierung im Wissenschaftsbetrieb (2015).

Global: von Oktober 2010 bis April 2016 unterstützten sie das «Committee on Freedom and Responsibility in the conduct of Science» des International Council for Science (ICSU). Ausgehend von der von diesem Komitee 2011 organisierten wissenschaftlichen Tagung zu «Private sector – academia interactions» führten die Akademien der Akademien Schweiz 2012 den Workshop «Das Spannungsverhältnis von Wissenschaft und Industrie am Beispiel des Sponsoring von Lehrstühlen» durch. Daraus resultierte das oben genannte ALLEA-Statement.
 

Mitglieder der Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz

Kompetenzzentren:

Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz
Haus der Akademien
Laupenstrasse 7
Postfach
CH-3001 Bern

Tel +41 (0)31 306 92 20
info@akademien-schweiz.ch